top of page

Praying Together


Although I was raised going to church on Sunday and reciting memorized prayers, I never truly understood the nature of prayer as intimate communion with Almighty Creator God. To me, God was an abstract Divine being, floating around somewhere in space, vaguely aware of my presence. As I understood Him at that time, He was everywhere all the time, yet not necessarily interested in the insignificant events of day-to-day living.

All erroneous perception evaporated the moment I personally encountered the Lord when I was 26 years old. From that moment henceforth, I have enjoyed a very clear understanding of Him, His love for me, and His desire to spend every waking moment of time in my presence. I revel in a profound personal relationship with my Creator. My husband had a similar misconstrued interpretation of God until he too met the Lord and became a devoted believer in and follower of Christ.

Because we came to Christ as adults, we didn’t have a background or familiarity with the

practice of corporate prayer, whether it be praying together as a couple, or praying with a group of other Christians. Needless to say, praying aloud was not something we were immediately comfortable with. It took time to come to that place in our faith. It took understanding from other Believers, and required that they be patient with us as the Lord matured us in His own way and in His own time.

At some point or another, we realized that corporate prayer ~ praying together ~ doesn’t necessarily mean praying aloud. The simple act of clasping hands, bowing heads, and praying quietly in unison is just as authentic, meaningful, and powerful as praying audibly.

Pray together. If you and/or your spouse are uncomfortable with praying aloud, know that your silent prayers are not hindered, neither are they unheard by our Heavenly Father! He hears your voiceless petitions, loud and clear!

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

"You will call to Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you."

~ Jeremiah 29:12

Archive
No tags yet.
Search by Tags
Finding Wedded Bliss | © 2018
bottom of page