top of page

In Sickness and in Health


Little did my sweet husband realize when we exchanged our wedding vows that I would get all the sickness and he would get all the health. In my lifetime, I’ve had more than my share of serious illnesses. My childhood was interrupted with frequent bouts of strep-throat, bronchitis, and random injuries. As an adult, I graduated to pneumonia and topped it off with a few herniated discs in my lower back. It seems that if I get sick, I get really, really sick. This in turn means that Bobby gets to take over my usual tasks for an extended period of time. In addition to running his business, he also gets to cook, clean, do laundry, and wait on me. Bless his heart, though, he does it willingly and with a smile.

There are any number of challenges to face during the course of a marriage and sickness can be one of the most challenging of all. But the one who is sick is not the only one who suffers. Bobby has often said that during my times of illness or injury, he feels so completely helpless. He hurts for me and longs for me to be restored to health. His Mr. Fix-it nature is often frustrated by the simple fact that certain circumstances just can’t be remedied quickly. It is then that his inner character shines most brightly.

In all our years together, he’s never once told me to suck it up, pull it together, or get a grip. Instead, he picks up the slack without complaint and strives to make me as comfortable as possible, all the while encouraging and reassuring me that better days are ahead.

If you have promised to love your spouse in sickness and in health, nurturing and encouraging your Sweetheart during times of illness or injury is also required of you. Use every difficult situation as an opportunity to tenderly serve her in a special way and to lift him up when he is feeling down. It will not only ease the suffering of the one you cherish, it will serve to strengthen your marital bond.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

“Cure sometimes, treat often, comfort always.”

~ Hippocrates

Archive
No tags yet.
Search by Tags
Finding Wedded Bliss | © 2018
bottom of page