top of page

The Perfect Gift


Gifts are not just for special holidays. Each new day offers a fresh opportunity to let your Beloved know how much you love him, how much you cherish her. A bouquet of her favorite flowers or baking his favorite dessert are nice ways of expressing your devotion, but before you settle on the expected, give the matter a little more thought.

What does your Significant Other truly desire? A gift should be an expression of the heart, a declaration of what is deepest within your being.

A thoughtful gesture doesn’t necessarily have to be an object to be wrapped with pretty paper and topped with a frilly bow. How attentive are you to her? How intimately do you know him? What truly is the desire of her heart? What would really bring him joy? Is your relationship self-centered or Sweetheart-centered?

I know of a certain man who for years brought his wife a bouquet of carnations every Valentine’s Day and every birthday. Had he ever paid attention to her, he would’ve known that she detests carnations. She knew that the reason he always gave her carnations was because they’re very inexpensive…and that he is very cheap. He chose to save a few dollars rather than bring joy to her heart. This, of course, had a lasting effect on their relationship. It wasn't the carnations, it was the attitude of his heart. He was content to drop by the grocery store on his way home and pick up the least expensive bouquet he could find. Each time she was presented with this feeble attempt at a token of love, she was reminded of his lack of devotion to her.

Fortunately for me, my husband excels at being attentive. He pays attention to me…to what I say, to what brings me joy, to my deepest thoughts and my silliest dreams. When Bobby was courting me, he often surprised me with a carton of my favorite ice cream. Occasionally, he would stop by my office unannounced and take me to lunch. You see, he

paid attention…and he still pays attention. He knows what I like and what brings me joy, and he responds accordingly.

Even after more than 30 years of marriage, Bobby still treasures me. This is evidenced whenever he invites me to take a walk with him or to join him on the porch swing, when he surprises me with “mystery trips” to newly discovered antiques shops and when he plans excursions on dinner trains, and when each night he fixes me my favorite coffee and sits close to me on the sofa. These are all gifts from the heart. These expressions of love reflect his deep and abiding love for me, and his desire to please me.

Make a special effort today and every day to pay attention to your Sweetheart. Observe him…study her. Determine what brings him or her joy and select a token accordingly. It doesn’t have to be extravagant or expensive. It doesn’t even have to be a material object. It should, however, bespeak your ongoing infatuation with the one who still tickles your fancy. The perfect gift simply has to be from the most precious part of yourself…your heart.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

“Love is the condition in which the happiness of another person is

essential to your own.” ~ Robert Heinlein

Archive
No tags yet.
Search by Tags
Finding Wedded Bliss | © 2018
bottom of page